Hinstock Primary School

Life at Hinstock Primary School Life at Hinstock Primary School Life at Hinstock Primary School Life at Hinstock Primary School Life at Hinstock Primary School

Our Curriculum

Our curriculum is built for children to SHINE (Succeed, be Happy, be Independent, be Nurtured, be Empowered)

This must include the National Curriculum but it is so much more than that…it is EVERYTHING we offer our pupils for example:.

Through our vision as a federation which encourages our children to reach for the stars, find ways to be successful, foster a love of learning,  discover their place in society, uncover their own likes and dislikes and  develop their skills and personal talents.

Through our expectations, in the way we encourage children to move around, line up, treat each other, question the world around them and investigate their values in response

Through the extended provision we offer opportunities for talents to be explored and  different experiences to be had.

The Primary School Curriculum

The first year of school is called Reception where children follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.  The next two years (Years 1 and 2) are called Key Stage One (KS1). The following four years of schooling (Years 3 to 6) being called Key Stage Two. Years 3 and 4 are Lower Key Stage 2 (LKS2) and Years 5 and 6 are Upper Key Stage 2 (UKS2). The school follows the guidelines set out in the National Curriculum.

Children are taught in a variety of ways: individually, in small groups, or as a whole class, whichever is most appropriate to enable effective use of teacher expertise and also provide focused teaching for key areas of the curriculum. All work is carefully planned and pupils individually monitored so that each child makes progress and we are able to bring out the best in each child no matter what their age or ability.

Ensuring Spiritual, Moral, Social and Cultural Development

Hinstock School actively promotes fundamental British values, primarily through our collective worship programme and throughout our curriculum by establishing a strong school ethos supported by effective relationships throughout the school, and providing relevant activities beyond the classroom. Pupils learn respect and tolerance through our PSHE and RSE curriculum and through our actions towards each other throughout the school. Protected characteristics are introduced through books, discussions and assemblies and the community has been consulted when outlining our approaches to these and RSE across the school. Pupils are encouraged to regard everyone with respect and tolerance. It is expected that pupils should understand that while different people may hold different views about what is ‘right’ and ‘wrong’, all people living in England are subject to its law. The school’s ethos and teaching supports the rule of English civil and criminal law. We strive to promote the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty, and mutual respect and tolerance for protected characteristics at an age appropriate level. These being: 

  • age.
  • disability.
  • gender reassignment.
  • marriage and civil partnership.
  • pregnancy and maternity.
  • race.
  • religion or belief.
  • sex.

The Early Years Foundation Curriculum

The Foundation Stage is centred on seven areas of learning:  Communication and Language, Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development, Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.All these areas have their own goals which feed into the curriculum across school, each one as building blocks to the subjects covered in school.  They provide the basis for the whole school curriculum and through close links with our Nursery we ensure our aims feed into the children's next stage of schooling.

The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum applies to all children from the beginning of Year 1, although we cannot overlook the strong foundations made in EYFS. It sets out programmes of study for all subjects. Religious Education is taught following the locally agreed syllabus. The National Curriculum provides the framework for ensuring continuity and progression across the school. Your child will be taught English, Mathematics, Science, Computing, History, Geography, Personal, Social Health and Education (PSHE), RSE (Relationships, Sex Education), PE (Physical Education), Religious Education, Art, Design Technology, Modern Foreign Languages (Years 3 to 6) and Music.

Please refer to each subject pages for further details on our complete curriculum offer.


In Line with National Regulations we  updated our RSE (Relationships and Sex Education) curriculum and requested parents review the offer and responded via a questionnaire so that all views were taken on board as we refined our planning over the Summer term 2021. This powerpoint outlines the changes: . This letter gave key information:  and this is a copy of the questionnaire:

 Online Questionnaire

Word format available too.